# MINUTES OF ASCOG AREA AGENCY ON AGING ADVISORY COUNCIL (AAAAC) 10:00 A.M. TUESDAY JUNE 14, 2016 JERRY D. MORRIS BUSINESS & INDUSTRY SERVICE CENTER RED RIVER TECHNOLOGY CENTER DUNCAN, OK.

NOTICE OF THE MEETING WAS GIVEN BY LETTER TO THE STEPHENS COUNTY CLERK DATED DECEMBER 9, 2015. AGENDA WAS POSTED AT ASCOG, 802 MAIN, DUNCAN, OK ON JUNE 6, 2016 AND ON THE WEB SITE ON JUNE 6 2016

### **Members Attending**

J.M. Cope Jalmer "Bo" Fallon Haljean Gillispie Louise Hamilton Thelmer Hutcheson Loretta Jackson John Kusel Dorothy Moore Merlene Rust

Rowena Scott-Johnson

Charles Watson

# **Members Absent**

Karolyn Anders Rubye Benson Katie Ebner Lauren Ellis Lewie Jeffries Charley Maguire Ray Merchant Watha Shanks Sandy Stewart Marlene Walker

## **AAA/Title III Staff Attending**

Ken Jones
Nancy Bluml
Bethany Sullivan
Darin Terry
Dacia Nix
Erick Dennis, MaddieLuke
Sammie Forrester, MaddieLuke
Pete Goldring, MaddieLuke
Monica Day, Center for Creative Living

# **Guests**

Chuck Ralls, City of Comanche Robert Floyd, City of Blanchard James Williams

**Agenda Item I. Call to Order, Welcome and Roll Call:** At a regular meeting of the ASCOG AAAAC, held at the Jerry D. Morris Business & Industry Service Center, 3300 W. Bois D'Arc, Duncan, Oklahoma, on Tuesday morning, June 14, 2016 the meeting was called to order at 10:01 a.m. by Merlene Rust, chair, who welcomed everyone. Roll call commenced and a quorum was determined to be present.

**Agenda Item II. Moment of Silence in Memory of Ruben Sotelo:** Merlene Rust turned the floor over to Ken Jones to lead a moment of silence in memory of Ruben Sotelo, Ombudsman Supervisor. Ruben was killed May 5, 2016 in an automobile accident while administering his duties for the Area Agency on Aging (AAA). The committee followed with

reciting the Pledge of Allegiance and it was recommended by Merlene Rust that this custom continue for future meetings.

Agenda Item III. Approval of Minutes from the Last Meeting: Ken Jones asked that there be an amendment to the minutes from the last meeting concerning Agenda Item IX. It should read: "Council recommended changes to reservation policy." The minutes of the previous meeting with the suggested change had a motion to approve made by Rowena Scott-Johnson and Jalmer "Bo" Fallon seconded. Those voting "aye" were Cope, Fallon, Gillispie, Hamilton, Hutcheson, Jackson, Moore, Rust and Scott-Johnson. Kusel and Watson abstained. There were no "nay" votes.

Agenda Item IV. Review, Consider and Take Possible Action on Transportation Services Provider: Ken Jones made a power point presentation outlining budget information for the transportation services provider services. He advised the council that a successful bid for these services was submitted by Brent Morey, Project Director, Community Action Development Corporation (CADC). A motion was made by Charles Watson to approve CADC as the Transportation Service Provider and John Kusel seconded. Those voting "aye" were Cope, Fallon, Gillispie, Hamilton, Hutcheson, Jackson, Kusel, Moore, Rust and Scott-Johnson and Watson. There were no "nay" votes.

Agenda Item V. Review, Consider and Take Possible Action on Title III Nutrition Site Closures Due to Budget Shortfall or Site Requests: Ken Jones utilized a PowerPoint presentation to illustrate suggested nutrition site closures. He stated that there is a estimated 10% decrease to Title III funding. He outlined that with this funding decrease, Pleasant Valley nutrition center will close July 1, 2016. Mr. Jones then informed the council of recommendations made by an Ad Hoc committee comprised from ASCOG board members that included: Terry Wyatt, Mike Lennier, Gerald Hayes, Dick Herrin and Bob Crews. The committee's recommendation was to close Byars, Geronimo, Blanchard, Washington and Comanche since there are all considered urban communities and have the resources to stay open for three years. A question and answer session followed. A motion was made by Charles Watson to accept the recommendation from the Ad Hoc committee and the motion was seconded by Loretta Jackson. Those voting "aye" were Cope, Fallon, Gillispie, Hamilton, Hutcheson, Jackson, Kusel, Moore, Rust and Scott-Johnson and Watson. There were no "nay" votes.

Agenda Item VI. Review, Consider and Take Possible Action on MaddieLuke Requests for Nutrition Site Change of Status: Ken Jones informed the council that the consideration was that two site changes be made effective July 1, 2016. His suggestion was that Walters and Marlow nutrition sites no longer be satellite sites and for the staff to resume cooking for the facilities. Following a brief discussion, the motion was made to allow these changes to occur for SFY17 by Haljean Gillespie and seconded by Charles Watson. Those voting "aye" were Cope, Fallon, Gillispie, Hamilton, Hutcheson, Jackson, Kusel, Moore, Rust and Scott-Johnson and Watson. There were no "nay" votes.

Agenda Item VII. Review, Consider and Take Possible Action on Title III Grantee Budget: Ken Jones explained that policy does not include the number of meals served and proposals do not include equipment costs. When the term "closed" is used, it means that the center has been taken off of the Title III contract. He further stated that the proposed budget still hinges on the numbers that Department of Human Services (DHS) will supply and they are supposed to make available those numbers and information by Friday, June 17, 2016. He explained that a portion of grant money comes from the Community Expansion for Nutrition Assistance (CENA) grant. There is a floor of \$5,000 and a prediction of a \$30,000 loss due to facilities becoming independent. The motion was made to combine and approve these changes by Rowena Scott-Johnson and seconded by Loretta Jackson. Those voting "aye" were Cope, Fallon, Gillispie, Hamilton, Hutcheson, Jackson, Kusel, Moore, Rust and Scott-Johnson and Watson. There were no "nay" votes.

Agenda Item VIII. Review, Consider and Take Possible Action on AAA Area Plan and Budget Modifications: Ken Jones made the suggestion that this item be set aside for a later date.

**Agenda Item IX. Adjournment:** On motion from Charles Watson and seconded by Rowena Scott-Johnson the AAAAC adjourned at approximately 11:50 a.m. Those voting "aye" were Cope, Fallon, Gillispie, Hamilton, Hutcheson, Jackson, Kusel, Moore, Rust and Scott-Johnson and Watson. There were no "nay" votes.

Ken Jones, Director Supportive Services Division