Senior Center Grants Announced for SFY17

Applications for the Community Expansion Nutrition Assistance (CENA) Grants for funding independent (non-Title III) senior centers are available online at  Applications are due July 15, 2016.

The Association of South Central Oklahoma Governments is announcing the availability of applications for those independent senior centers serving meals at least three times per week.

Up to four (4) competitive, $20,000 grants will be awarded for Title III Nutrition sites who are not currently scheduled to close or go independent and who will agree to voluntarily leave the Title III program effective October 1, 2016.  Remaining funds will be put in a pool for all other eligible applicants. Community senior centers eligible for the four competitive, $20,000 grants include the following sites exclusively:

  • Anadarko
  • Blanchard
  • Byars
  • Cache
  • Carnegie
  • Cement
  • Comanche
  • Cyril
  • Duncan (all Duncan sites must agree to go independent to be eligible)
  • Elgin
  • Geronimo
  • Lawton (all Lawton sites must agree to go independent to be eligible)
  • Marlow
  • Purcell
  • Ringling
  • Ryan
  • Temple and
  • Walters

Remaining funds will be set aside in a pool for other eligible applicants. All other area senior centers who do not receive Title III meal funding and who serve meals at least three times per week are eligible to apply.  Those community senior centers include but are not limited to:

  • Alex
  • Apache
  • Binger
  • Dibble
  • Grandfield
  • Hinton
  • Minco
  • Newcastle
  • Ninnekah
  • Rush Springs
  • Tipton
  • Tuttle
  • Velma and
  • Waurika

Grant awards are subject to availability of funding from the Oklahoma Department of Commerce.

For more information contact Ken Jones at 580.736.7972.